Cost of Supervision

Idaho Code 20-225 authorizes payment for Cost of Supervision. Any person under Idaho Department of Correction probation or parole supervision shall be required to contribute not more than seventy-five dollars ($75.00) per month as determined by the Board of Correction.  The IDOC currently assesses a monthly fee of sixty dollars ($60.00) per month.  Costs of supervision fees offset some of the direct and indirect costs incurred by the Idaho Department of Correction to supervise probationers and parolees. These includes tests to determine drug and alcohol use, books and written materials to support rehabilitation efforts, and monitoring physical location through the use of technology. 

Unpaid COS fees become past due on the 15th day of the month.  When the offender's account becomes three (3) months past due, the probation and parole officer (PPO) will initiate sanctions against the offender.

IDOC accepts money orders or cashier’s checks only.  Offenders must mail COS payments to the Central Office. Should an offender try to deliver payment to district staff, the staff member will instruct the offender to use the postage-paid envelope received with his or her bill. The staff member shall instruct the offender to ensure his or her name and IDOC number are clearly marked on the money order or cashier’s check, seal the envelope, and place it in a U.S. Postal Service (USPS) mailbox.

 

The money order or cashier’s check must:

  • Be payable to IDOC or Idaho Department of Correction
  • Include the offender number and name (please print legibly) so that it may be applied to the correct account.

Payments must be mailed to:

IDOC – Cost of Supervision (COS)
1299 N. Orchard, Suite 110
PO Box 83720
Boise ID 83720-0118

For your convenience, a pre-addressed, postage paid envelope is included with each monthly statement.  These envelopes can also be obtained at any probation and parole district office. 

Address Changes 

Monthly COS statements are mailed to offenders.  It is the offender’s responsibility to immediately notify their PPO of any changes to their physical and/or mailing address.  The PPO will enter the address change into the computer system.  There is also an address change form printed on the back of each COS statement. 

Receipts 

In order to conserve costs, IDOC does not mail a receipt when a payment is made to an account.  It is important for you to keep a record of your money order or cashier’s check receipt.  IDOC uses that receipt number to track the incoming payment as it is posted to the individual’s account.

Billing Questions

If you are on probation or parole, please contact your probation and parole officer for any questions relating to your cost of supervision balance.  You may also contact the Cost of Supervision department by calling 208-658-2000.

Important! -- You cannot combine payments together; each payment transaction type is handled separately, by staff at different locations.  In order to ensure that your payment gets applied correctly, please follow the instructions for the type of payment you are making, and send each money order separately. 

On March 16, 2011, Governor Otter signed Bill Number S1063 into law.  This law allows the Idaho Department of Correction to increase the monthly billing for Cost of Supervision from $50 per month, to $75 per month.

Effective July 1, 2011, The Department of Correction will increase the monthly charge per offender to $60 per month.  This amount will be reflected on offender statements dated August 1, 2011, which cover the month of July.

The Department has elected to increase the charge by only $10 at this time to help offset the increasing costs of providing supervision.

Print this pagePrint this page