Visiting

The visiting room at ISCI where family and friends meet with offenders
Visiting room at ISCI

WARNING: No paper money is allowed in visiting rooms. Visitors may bring coins in clear plastic bags or debit or credit cards, if applicable, to make vending machine purchases.

Visiting Inmates Housed in Idaho:

All potential visitors must have a criminal background check completed, must complete and submit a visiting application and an acknowledgement of visiting rules. Visiting applications, visiting rules and related forms are provided by the offender, are available for download on this site or can be obtained in person from a facility visiting room staff member.

Please allow 2-4 weeks for application processing. The offender will be notified upon approval or denial of their prospective visitor's application. Offenders are responsible for notifying their prospective visitors; visiting staff will not disclose approvals/denials over the phone.

Please note - Contraband: Idaho code 18-2510 states that a person commits a crime by knowingly introducing or possessing contraband in a correctional facility.  Contraband includes but is not limited to tobacco, cell phone(s) or telecommunication equipment, controlled/illegal substances, firearms or dangerous weapons, ammunition/explosives, and escape tools or devices.  Violations are punishable by imprisonment of up to 5 years and/or fine of up to $10,000.

Visiting times and days vary by institution and offenders are responsible to provide schedule information. Visiting information is also available on this web site. Visitors may contact facility visiting staff to confirm offender housing locations and visiting times.

Standard Operating Procedures - Learn more about the policies governing visiting rules.

To visit, you must first apply. Applications should be submitted to the facility in which the offender is housed and should include the full name and IDOC number of the offender they wish to visit. Addresses for all of the prisons can be found on the facility address page. Please note - visiting is NOT allowed during the reception and diagnostic process as offenders first enter prison. Also, if the offender is new to the prison, visitors must wait until the offender has been classified so that they know in which facility he/she will be housed before submitting their application

Visiting Rules for Inmates and Visitors [PDF]

Termination/Removal of Visitation Privileges - The result of misconduct.

Attorney Access - We understand attorney access to inmates is important.

Visiting Hours - Each facility has its own scheduled hours for visiting.

VISITING INMATES HOUSED IN OUT-OF-STATE FACILITIES ONLY:

If you plant to visit an inmate housed IN AN OUT OF STATE FACILITY ONLY (Eagle Pass Correctional Facility or Karnes County Correctional Center ONLY) you will need to have a background check completed and submit a visiting application to:

DW Higgins, IDOC
Attn: Visiting Applications
1299 N. 
Orchard St. Ste 110
Boise, ID 83706

*Applications sent directly to out of state facilities will cause delays in the application process. For the visiting rules and policiies of the specific out of state facilities, go to their individual webpages:

Eagle Pass Correctional Facility
Karnes County Correctional Center

Print this pagePrint this page