Visiting Application

All potential visitors must complete a background check and submit a visiting application. There are different processes for visiting offenders housed in Idaho and those housed out-of-state. Please review the information below.

All applicants/visitors must read and be familiar with the following:

If applicant is age 18 or older, submit the following:

If applicant is age 17 or younger, submit the following:

  1. Visiting Application - Adult (for parent or guardian to visit)
  2. A separate application, Visiting Application - Minor (for child to visit)
  3. A copy of the court order granting legal guardianship or a Power of Attorney Delegating Limited Powers for Visitation
  4. A certified copy of the minor's birth certificate

Need more information? Please select from the listing below for instructions and to find out where to send visiting applications.

  • All potential visitors must complete a background check.
  • All potential visitors must complete a visiting application and submit it to the institution in which the offender is housed. Addresses for all IDOC facilities can be found on each facility's visiting hours/schedule page.
  • If the inmate is new to the prison, visitors must wait until the inmate has been classified before submitting the application so they will know which institution to send it to. Inmates are NOT allowed visitors during the reception and diagnostic process. Visiting applications, visiting rules, and related forms are available for download on this page. In addition, inmates can obtain and mail the forms to potential visitors.
  • Visiting room staff will notify inmates when the application process and background check have been completed. The process normally takes two to four weeks. Inmates are responsible to notify their prospective visitor of the decision.
  • Visting hours/schedules can change because of weather and/or emergency situations. In addition, NICI has site-specific visiting rules due to its location and weather. Visitors may contact facility visiting staff at all facilities to confirm offender housing locations and corresponding visiting schedules or use our offender search tool.
  • Staff may search any item or any visitor entering the visiting area to enforce Idaho Code 18-2510. No outside food of any kind may be brought in to include gum and candy. The only exceptions are detailed in our Visiting Rules. No pictures of any kind are allowed, including those on keychain-sized electronic picture viewers. Also, no oils, religious oils, can openers, sunglasses or documents of any kind are allowed.


Please note:
It is a crime to introduce contraband. Idaho Code 18-2510 states that a person commits a crime by knowingly introducing or possessing contraband in a correctional facility. Contraband includes but is not limited to tobacco, cell phone(s) or telecommunication equipment, controlled/illegal substances, firearms or dangerous weapons, ammunition/explosives, and escape tools or devices. Violations are punishable by imprisonment of up to 5 years and/or fine of up to $10,000.


WARNING:
No paper money is allowed in visiting rooms. Visitors may bring coins in clear plastic bags or debit or credit cards, if applicable, to make vending machine purchases.

If you plan to visit an inmate housed IN AN OUT-OF-STATE FACILITY, you will need to have a background check completed and submit a visiting application. DO NOT mail the visiting application directly to the facility. Doing so will only cause a delay in the approval process. Instead, visiting applications for out-of-state facilities must be mailed to the address below:

 

DW Higgins, IDOC
ATTN: Out of State Facility Visiting Application
1299 N Orchard St, Suite 110
Boise, ID 83706

Print this pagePrint this page